LGT News

LGT Group appoints two new members to its Foundation Board

LGT Group Foundation has appointed Helen Louise Heslop and Gunn Wærsted to its Foundation Board. They took office on 1 January 2024.


With the appointment of Helen Louise Heslop, a UK national, and Gunn Wærsted, a Norwegian national, the LGT Group Foundation Board has gained two new members with extensive experience in finance. Helen Louise Heslop began her career at Price Waterhouse and qualified as a UK chartered accountant in 1995. From 1997 until 2017, she held various financial management positions in the banking and insurance sectors in Europe and Asia – including roles at GE Capital (as CFO Consumer Finance Thailand, CFO Nordic and Baltics GE Money Bank, and CFO GE Money Bank Western Europe) and at Aviva PLC (as Europe CFO and Group Cell Transformation Director). She also has long-standing experience in chairing audit committees in the UK financial services sector. Heslop holds a MA in Economics from Cambridge University.   

Gunn Wærsted has many years of professional experience in banking and wealth management. From 1979 to 2016, she held senior positions at a number of Scandinavian financial institutions, most recently at the financial services group Nordea as Group Executive Vice President and Head of Wealth Management, and as CEO of Nordea Bank Norway. Since 2016, Wærsted has served on the boards of various Nordic and other international companies, including as Chair of the Board of Telenor, a global telecommunication company, as Chair of the Board of Obton, an investment and development company specialising in renewable energy, as Chair of the Board of Petoro, an oil and gas company, and as a Board member of the investment manager Fidelity International. Until recently, she was also a member of the Board and chaired the Board IT and Resilience Committee of Nationwide Building Society, the UK’s largest building society. Wærsted holds a master’s degree in business and economics from BI Norwegian Business School.

Helen Louise Heslop and Gunn Wærsted succeed Prof. Dr Conrad Meyer, who stepped down from LGT Group’s Foundation Board at the end of December 2023.

Since 1 January 2024, the LGT Group Foundation Board has consisted of the following members: H.S.H. Prince Max von und zu Liechtenstein (Chairman), H.S.H. Prince Hubertus von und zu Liechtenstein, Karen Fawcett, Helen Louise Heslop, Mark Jordy, Dr Peter Nussbaum, Thomas Piske and Gunn Wærsted.

Contact us